Scoring Titles

The WCHL Scoring Titles are awarded to the player who led the league goals scored and the player who recorded the most assists. The WCHL also honors the goalie with the lowest Goals Against Average during the Reguar Season.

Anthony Nelson Regular Season MVP

The MVP is the player who is deemed most valuable to their team throughout the regular season. Criteria for this award includes goal scoring, play-making, defense, leadership and/or goal-tending. Any player is eligible for this award. The WCHL players select the winner of the Most Valuable Player Award.

Best Offensive Player

The Best Offensive Player is the player who exhibited excellent offensive ability during the season. Criteria for this award is goal scoring, assisting others and being clutch in tight game situations.

Dave Rosen Best Defensive Player

The Dave Rosen Best Defensive Player is the player who illustrates the most successful defensive play throughout the season.

Players nominated for this award often stay under the radar during games until they are called upon to make a game saving stop or force a critical turn over.

Jeff May Unsung Hero

The Jeff May Unsung Hero is the player who should be honored for their true impact on their team during the season.

Every team has a certain player who plays to the best of their ability no matter what. Often overlooked or unsung by others, their teammates truly realise the impact they have on their team, the league and fellow players.

Most Dynamic Duo

The Most Dynamic Duo is the two players who displayed the strongest teamwork during the season. These two players performed some of the greatest efforts when paired together during a game.

Best All-Around Player

The Best All-Around Player of the Year is the player who displayed equal dominance on both the offensive and defensive ends of the floor during the season.

The best all around player is the total package when it comes to playing hockey and can be relied on to score a game winning goal or make a game saving play.

Goalie of the Year

The Goalie of the Year is the player who had the strongest performance as the goaltender during the season. The goaltender is the last line of defense for any team. The goalie is a position under much scrutiny with little room for errors; otherwise, it could mean a defeat. The WCHL players select the recipient of this award.

Tom Martin Sportsmanship

The Tom Martin Sportsmanship Award goes to the player who displayed the greatest sportsmanship throughout the season. Good sportsmanship is being respectful of their teammates, opponents and referees in all situations.

The WCHL Referees select the Tom Martin Sportsmanship Award recipient.

Jay May Gamesmanship

The Jay May Gamesmanship Award is an award given to a player who should be distinguished for their “gamesmanship” during the season.Gamesmanship is defined as outstanding leadership and a competitive nature tempered by sportsmanlike conduct and a will to put one’s team ahead of personal accomplishments.

The WCHL Referees select the Jay May Gamesmanship recipient.

Most Improved Player

The Most Improved Player looks at how much a player has improved from the previous year to the current season. Players can improve in various ways be it defensive, offensive, leadership or goaltending. The

WCHL Referees select Most Improved Player recipient.

Rookie of the Year

The Rookie of the Year award is given to a player who excelled in their first year in the league. Whether it was by scoring goals, making defensive stops or playing between the pipes as a goalie, all eligible players made a positive contribution to their teams during the season. Only players playing in their first full season are eligible for this award.

The WCHL Referees select the Rookie of the Year recipient.

President's Trophy Playoff MVP

The Presidents Trophy is given to the Most Valuable Player throughout the Playoffs.

A player can be awarded this honor due to offensive or defensive excellence, or excellence as a goaltender. The WCHL Referees select the recipient of this award.

Kyle Brodbeck All Star MVP

The Kyle Brodbeck All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award is given to the player who excelled during the All-Star Game.

Andy Siwarski Leadership Award

The Andy Siwarski Leadership Award is a special player award dedicated to Andy Siwarski, former WCHL President. Andy Siwarski was a great leader on and off the court so we dedicate the special leadership award in his honor.

Players that receive this award have shown exceptional leadership qualities during the season.

With their contributions, they create a pleasant playing environment for all other players.

Coaches Choice Mustangs MVP

This award is given to the Most Valuable Player of the Michigan Mustangs when the team competes in national tournaments.

The winner is selected by the current Mustangs' Head Coach.

Paul Yankle Scholarship

The Paul Yankle Scholarship was founded in 2010 to honor the memory of WCHL Alumni, #6 Paul Yankle.
Paul took pride in his education, good sportsmanship and ability to encourage others to be their best, always with a positive attitude. Paul always tried to lead by example in everything he did and he was an inspiration to his former classmates and teammates.
This scholarship, worth $150, will be awarded annually to one WCHL player currently enrolled in post-secondary education.

Todd Pasant Inspirational Award

The Todd Pasant Inspirational Award is a special award dedicated to Todd Pasant the founder of the WCHL. This award goes to the volunteer or person who showed an intense dedication to our league.

The recipient also made the contribution of time and effort to better the league and help to guide it’s growth.

Anyone who wins this award is truly an inspiration to the WCHL.

The players select the recipient of the Todd Pasant Inspirational Award.

Beth Lebowsky Dedication Award

The Beth Lebowsky Dedication Award is named after the ultimate volunteer herself. Beth Lebowsky served as the stats keeper and photographer of the WCHL for nearly 20 years. The winner of this award has proven themselves to be a long term and dedicated member of our community. Anyone who wins this award is truly the meaning of dedication.